August 30, 2022

Joint declaration on cooperation with Ukrainian cities

At the beginning of June this year, at the Crown Tribunal, Mayors and Officials of four European cities - Lublin, Nancy, Münster and Karlsruhe signed the Declaration on cooperation with Ukrainian cities. It was the key aspect of the three-day meeting in Lublin.

The meeting of City Mayors organised in Lublin under the Weimar Triangle formula is a pivotal and significant occasion to jointly give thought to ventures supporting Ukrainian cities and their inhabitants. The declaration expressly condemns Russian aggression against sovereign Ukraine and recognizes the determination of Ukrainian defenders. It also underlines and supports, at the level of European cities, Ukraine's membership aspirations to the European Union. Declaration defines new or strengthens already existing contacts with Ukrainian cities to contribute to their post-war reconstruction - says Krzysztof Żuk, Mayor of Lublin.

The declaration on helping Ukrainian cities was signed by:

  • Krzysztof Żuk, Mayor of Lublin;
  • Mathieu Klein, Mayor of Nancy, Chairman of the Grand Nancy Metropolitan Council;
  • Angela Stähler, Deputy Mayor of the City of Münster
  • and Clemens Cremer, City Councilor of Karlsruhe.

The event was also attended by Artem Valah, Consul General of Ukraine in Lublin.